Twitter will never be the same again

After being introduced to JavaScript earlier in the week, the next task was to return to our bookmark manager application and use our new skills to it more flashy. Helpfully, we had a tutorial to follow which made it easier getting to grips with the new material. It wasn’t long before I had small outlines of purple stars in the top right-hand corner of each link which, when clicked, filled in with colour. This was also accompanied by a pop-up message announcing that the link in question had been ‘added to your favourites’. In reality, the ‘Favourites’ function didn’t actually work; the data wasn’t been logged anywhere and  a simple refresh of the page would return all of the stars to their original status. Still, some progress was being made!

In light of our new front-end skills we were given a real challenge for the weekend. Our task was to recreate the look and feel of a Twitter.com feed page. There were no requirements for any back-end code at all. We only had to produce HTML, CSS, and JS files. I was excited by the task and took some time  to explore the structure of my Twitter feed, in order to come up with a plan of action. After a few minutes of trying to decipher to the code for the main header, I realised what a tricky task this would prove to be. Twitter’s pages are filled with divs within divs making it hard to keep track of which code was necessary for the completion of the test. It took until the end of Saturday for me to have the header  all there in terms of appearance, but it didn’t quite behave the same way as Twitter’s did when you hovered the mouse over certain links.

On Sunday morning I took a break from coding to attend Silicon Milkroundabout, a jobs fair for tech startups. CVs and business cards in tow, I entered unsure of whether I would be of interest to any of the companies given I was only seven weeks into an intensive coding course. Turns out there was no need to worry! The atmosphere at The Old Truman Brewery was so dynamic and I had some excellent conversations with quite a few companies. Many were very interested in what and how I was learning at Makers Academy, and were also on a keen lookout for new female developers.

After a few hours there, I had to drag myself away, back to my Twitter task. I spent the rest of the afternoon and evening trying to make as much progress as possible. By the end of the day I was left with the following:

Screen Shot 2013-11-17 at 23.15.35It wasn’t a bad attempt, but there is still a long way to go. For now, I can’t take staring at Twitter and its code any longer and so I decided to put the task to one side. Next steps will involve populating the white boxes with dummy data and trying to mimic the infinite scrolling effect for when a user hits the bottom of the feed. For now, when I go onto Twitter, I can’t help but stare so intently at all the little images and icons, seeing them morph into lines of code before my very eyes.

Leave a Reply

